Johnson County adds 4 crisis call specialists to help staff 988 suicide prevention line

Starting July 16, Johnson Countians can dial 988 to access the National Suicide Prevention Hotline, which locally will be manned by crisis specialists at the Johnson County Mental Health Center. Image from

Johnson County’s mental health crisis response team is growing by four positions.

What’s happening: At last week’s meeting, the Johnson County Board of County Commissioners approved the addition of four full-time crisis call specialist positions to the Johnson County Mental Health Center.

  • The new positions are funded through a grant from the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services.

What would they do? The crisis call specialists will answer calls to the Johnson County Crisis Line and the 988 National Suicide Prevention Lifeline.