These 3 Johnson County cities will consider new mask mandates Wednesday — here are the details

In special city council meetings Wednesday night, Mission, Prairie Village and Roeland Park will consider new citywide mask mandates, as the Omicron variant spurs new cases to record high levels throughout the metro. The cities were the only Johnson County municipalities to institute mask orders during the fall surge of the Delta variant. File image.

With the Omicron variant spurring new case numbers to record highs across the Kansas City metro, the cities of Mission, Prairie Village and Roeland Park on Wednesday night will hold special city council meetings to consider instituting new citywide mask mandates.

Prairie Village and Roeland Park were the only two Johnson County municipalities to put mask orders in place during last fall’s spike fueled by the Delta variant.