Czinege, Skoog advance in Overland Park mayoral primary, setting up Nov. 2 face off

Business executive Mike Czinege (left) and Councilmember Curt Skoog both gathered with friends and supporters Tuesday night as results were announced. Czinege received roughly 39% of the vote, compared to Skoog's 23%. Not advancing: Councilmember Faris Farassati and attorney Clay Norkey. Photo credit Juliana Garcia and Leah Wankum.

Political newcomer Mike Czinege and Councilmember Curt Skoog emerged the winners in the four-way primary for Overland Park mayor.

Czinege, who joined the race late, was the largest vote getter with 8,989 or about 38.6% of the vote.