34 students from Johnson County win prestigious National Merit Scholarships

The latest round of winners of National Merit Scholarships includes three students in Shawnee Mission schools. Another round of winners will be announced in July. File photo.

Another group of college-bound Johnson County students got some good news this week.

Thirty-four students from Johnson County learned Wednesday they had won prestigious National Merit Scholarships this year.

They’re among more than 3,100 scholarship winners nationwide who were selected from a list of roughly 16,000 finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.