Number of cases in Kansas surpasses 100, with more than 50% in Johnson, Wyandotte Counties

The total number of confirmed positive cases of coronavirus infection topped 100 for the first time Wednesday. More than half of the cases in the state are in Johnson and Wyandotte Counties. Image credit Yuri Samoilov. Used under a Creative Commons license.

Note: The Shawnee Mission Post is making much of its local coverage of the coronavirus pandemic accessible to non-subscribers. (If you value having a news source covering the situation in our community, we hope you’ll consider subscribing here).

The state of Kansas reported more than 100 confirmed cases of COVID-19 Wednesday for the first time since the pandemic broke, with more than half of the cases coming among residents of Johnson and Wyandotte Counties.