Kansas liquor laws changed April 1. Here’s how several Shawnee Mission area cities updated local ordinances as a result

Gas stations like this one in Lenexa are now permitted to sell stronger beer as of April 1.

After Kansas legislators changed state laws to allow grocery stores and convenience stores to sell stronger beer, several cities in northeast Johnson County have been changing their codes to reflect the change.

Grocery and convenience stores are now permitted to sell beer with an alcoholic content up to 6 percent by volume under the law signed by Gov. Sam Brownback in April 2017. Those stores were previously only able to sell beer with an alcoholic content up to 3.2 percent by weight.

The new state laws will also permit drinking establishments to serve alcoholic liquor between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. Previously, liquor could only be served between 9 a.m. and 2 a.m. Additionally, the state law change also allows liquor stores to sell related items such as mixers, ice, lottery tickets and cigars, without requiring them to keep liquor separate from non-alcoholic products.