Local statehouse primary results: Neighbor, Jenkins set for rematch of 2016 race; Woodard, Bingesser will vie to replace Randy Powell

Jay Senter - August 8, 2018 8:49 am
Republican Eric Jenkins won his primary Tuesday, setting up a rematch of the 2016 District 18 race against incumbent Democrat Cindy Neighbor.

With Johnson County’s election tally in at last, the general election contests for four Shawnee Mission area seats in the Kansas House are now set:

District 17

Brandon Woodard is the Democratic nominee for the District 30 seat being vacated by Rep. Randy Powell.

Incumbent Rep. Tom Cox easily defeated conservative Republican challenger Jim Eschrich in the primary with 72 percent of the vote. He’ll face Democratic challenger Laura Smith-Everett in the general.

District 18

Incumbent Rep. Cindy Neighbor easily defeated challenger Andy Hurla 80-18 in the Democratic primary. Shawnee city councilman Eric Jenkins defeated Cathy Gordon 61-33 in the Republican primary, setting up a rematch of his 2016 race against Neighbor in the general.

Get Shawnee Mission Post’s latest headlines via email for FREE each weekday!

Get Shawnee Mission Post’s latest headlines via email for FREE each weekday!

District 22

Incumbent Democrat Nancy Lusk easily defeated challenger Michael Coleman III with 87 percent of the primary vote.

District 30

Brandon Woodard defeated Matthew Calcara 65-33 for the Democratic nomination for the seat, which is being vacated by incumbent Randy Powell, a conservative Republican who chose not to seek reelection. Woodard will face Wendy Bingesser, who defeated moderate Republican Colleen Webster in the primary 51-44, in the general.

Never miss a story. Try full access today for just 99¢

You want to know what’s happening in Shawnee Mission. We make it easy. Sign up today for just 99¢ and get full access to all stories plus our premium email newsletters.

Subscribe for access to comments section