Yoder nominates Shawnee Mission area students for placement at U.S. military academies

The U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Photo via Facebook.
The U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Photo via Facebook.

Rep. Kevin Yoder has nominated 30 young residents of his congressional district for placement at the United States Naval Academy, United States Military Academy and United States Air Force Academy.

Among the nominees are a number of area residents and natives, including:

  • Thomas Finn, Overland Park, Rockhurst High School (Naval Academy)
  • Ryan Fitzgerald, Leawood, Rockhurst High School (Naval Academy)
  • Jerad Habben, Shawnee, Shawnee Mission Northwest (Naval Academy)
  • Claire Ivey, Shawnee, graduated from Notre Dame de Sion High School, currently at United States Naval Preparatory School (Naval Academy)
  • Dennis Rice, Prairie Village, Shawnee Mission East High School (Military Academy)
  • Catherine McAlister, Fairway, graduate of Shawnee Mission East, currently at KU (Air Force Academy)
  • Camden Schieffer, Leawood, Rockhurst High School (Air Force Academy)
  • Patrick Sullivan, Westwood, Shawnee Mission East High School (Air Force Academy)

To be eligible for admission to the service academies, candidates must have the endorsement of a sitting member of the congress. Yoder’s office reviewed the applications of dozens of District 3 students before he interviewed a set of finalists.