Rushton, Hocker Grove educators are Shawnee Mission nominees for Kansas Teacher of the Year

Photo credit: Shutterstock
Photo credit: Shutterstock

Rushton Elementary sixth-grade teacher Patti Ingraham and Hocker Grove Middle School eighth-grade science teacher Travis Wallace are the Shawnee Mission School District’s 2017 nominees for Kansas Teacher of the Year.

Ingraham is in her sixth year at Rushton and has served as a PTA president as a district parent. She is currently the lead facilitator of the Rushton Trauma Informed Care Team.

Wallace is in his ninth year with the district, and serves as a girls basketball coach at Hocker Grove. He has been nominated for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, and helped put together the Hocker Grove Career Fair.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year program, which is run by the Kansas State Department of Education, has each school district in the state nominate two teachers each year, one from the elementary level, and one from the middle or high school level. KSDE then narrows the field to four elementary and four secondary finalists, a pair from each of the state’s four congressional districts. Finalists are announced in the early fall with the winners announced at the annual KSDE banquet held in November.

All nominees get to participate in special training events that allow them to share best practices for the classroom through the Kansas Teacher of the Year program.

Briarwood sixth grade teacher Jonathan Ferrell was named a Kansas Teacher of the Year finalist in 2016.