Northeast Johnson County morning roundup

Dero_Bike_repairMerriam installs two new bike repair stations along trail. Cyclists who find themselves in a fix in Merriam now have access to some handy tools. The city recently installed two Dero bike repair stations that have the equipment needed to make a variety of fixes, from changing flat tires to adjusting derailleurs and brakes. The stations, located on the Streamway Trail in Waterfall Park and Chatlain Park, each cost $1,178.50.

Dunn, Rooker named to Johnson County Education Research Triangle Authority. Two northeast Johnson County elected officials have been named to four-year terms on the Johnson County Education Research Triangle Authority. Rep. Melissa Rooker and Leawood Mayor Peggy Dunn will help oversee the program, which uses proceeds from a 1/8-cent sales tax to support initiatives at KU Edwards, K-State Olathe and the University of Kansas Clinical Research Center. Both Rooker and Dunn were appointed to their positions with JCERT by the University of Kansas. Overland Park Mayor Carl Gerlach, who is beginning his second four-year term on the authority, was named the group’s chair.

Shawnee Mission East grad named college conference swimmer of the year. Shawnee Misison East graduate and Leawood native Meg Stanley this month was named the 2017 College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin Female Swimmer of the Year. Stanley, a distance freestyle specialist, is in her senior year at Illinois Wesleyan. She holds the school and conference record in the 500-yard freestyle.