Shawnee Mission North’s Will Schneider a finalist for the Simone Award, three from Miege named finalists for awards

After three years of working together, Bartlett and Schneider have developed a strong rapport.
Shawnee Mission North senior quarterback Will Schneider, right, is one of four finalists for the Simone Award given to the best player in the metro. Schneider threw for 3,035 yards and 31 touchdowns this season as he set a new state career passing record with 8,901 yards.

On Monday night the Thomas A. Simone committee announced its finalists for the 34th-annual Simone Award along with four other awards.

The Simone Award is given to the best player in the metro and Shawnee Mission North senior quarterback Will Schneider is one of the four finalists. A four-year starter, Schneider threw for 3,035 yards and 31 touchdowns this season as he threw for 8,901 career passing  yards, surpassing Silver Lake’s Kyle Kruger’s previous record of 8,781 set more than a decade ago. Schneider along with teammate senior offensive lineman Danny Pressler were named to the All-Simone Team.

Bishop Miege has a trio up for awards — junior quarterback Carter Putz and seniors Jafar Armstrong (wide receiver) and Colin Grunhard (offensive lineman). Those three along with senior Landry Weber were named to the All-Simone Team.

Putz is a finalist for the 18th-annual Frank Fontana Award, which is given the best small-class player in the metro MO 1-4, KS 1A-4A). He completed more than 71 percent of his passes as he threw for 3,264 yards and a school-record 50 TDs for the state champion Stags.

Armstrong is one of four who could have his named called for the ninth-annual Otis Taylor Award, which is given to the best receiver in the metro. He recorded 54 catches for 1,277 yards and 21 TDs this season as he set a state record for career receiving touchdowns with 45. In the state championship game, he had eight receptions for 222 yards and 3 touchdowns.

Grunhard was a four-year starter and started 50 straight games. He’s a two-time all Eastern Kansas League first-team selection and was named to the all-state team last year. He is a finalist for the 17th-annual Bobby Bell Award, given to the best small-class lineman or linebacker.

The award winners will be announced Tuesday, Dec. 6, at the school of the Simone Award winner

All-Simone Offense Team

Quarterback – Matt Dercher, Senior, Blue Valley
Quarterback – Justin Mitchell, Senior, Platte County
Quarterback – Anthony Pritzel, Senior, Kearney
Quarterback – Carter Putz, Junior, Bishop Miege
Quarterback – Amaun Ryan, Junior, Center
Quarterback – Will Schneider, Senior, SM North
Running Back – Trevon Alexander, Junior, Richmond
Running Back – William Evans, Senior, Blue Valley
Running Back – Travis Martin, Senior, Lincoln Prep
Running Back – Robert Rawie, Junior, Liberty
Running Back – Julian Ross, Senior, Staley
Running Back – Cornelius Ruff, Senior, Schlagle
Running Back – Rachaad White, Senior, Center
Wide Receiver – Jafar Armstrong, Senior, Bishop Miege*
Wide Receiver – Jess Davis, Senior, Kearney
Wide Receiver – Jordan Martin, Senior, Turner
Wide Receiver – Nick Snider, Senior, Belton
Wide Receiver – Harrison Van Dyne, Senior, Blue Valley
Offensive Lineman – Ben Becker, Junior, Park Hill South
Offensive Lineman – Jay Dineen, Senior, Lawrence Free State
Offensive Lineman – Colin Grunhard, Senior, Bishop Miege*
Offensive Lineman – Kirrian Kirby, Senior, Blue Valley
Offensive Lineman – Derek Kohler, Senior, Platte County
Offensive Lineman – Daniel Parker, Junior, Blue Springs
Offensive Lineman – Danny Presler, Senior, SM North
Offensive Lineman – Marquae Richardson, Senior, Center

All-Simone Defense Team

Defensive Lineman – Daniel Carson, Junior, William Chrisman
Defensive Lineman – Diaz Elliott, Senior, Richmond
Defensive Lineman – Chester Graves, Senior, Park Hill*
Defensive Lineman – Peter Klug, Senior, Blue Valley North
Defensive Lineman – Anthony Payne, Senior, Raymore-Peculiar
Defensive Lineman – Travis Pickert, Senior, St. James Academy
Linebacker – Ethan Luft, Senior, Kearney
Linebacker – Michael Maffry, Senior, Blue Valley*
Linebacker – Eli Ross, Senior, Staley*
Linebacker – Casey Still, Senior Blue Springs
Linebacker – John Taylor, Senior, Center
Linebacker – TJ Williams, Junior, Basehor-Linwood
Linebacker – Seven Wilson, Senior, Park Hill*
Defensive Back – Michael Brown, Senior, East
Defensive Back – Joel Donn, Senior, Mill Valley
Defensive Back – Mario Goodrich, Junior, Lee’s Summit West
Defensive Back – JJ Letcher, Senior, Piper
Defensive Back – Jake Springer, Senior, Park Hill South
Defensive Back – Morgan Selemaea, Senior, Harrisonville
Defensive Back – Trevor Thompson, Senior, SM East
Defensive Back – Landry Weber, Senior, Bishop Miege

*Asterisks note two-time All-Simone Team honorees.