Fall ballot set for NEJC; Tuesday’s vote ousts several incumbents across county as moderates claim victories

NEJC voters set the fall ballot on Tuesday.
NEJC voters set the fall ballot on Tuesday.

The fall ballot is set. Although northeast Johnson County voters on either side of the aisle had only a handful of choices to make on Tuesday, the November ballot brings contests in nearly every race.

The most significant NEJC election result Tuesday was the win of Dorothy Hughes over Neil Melton in the District 21 state representative Republican primary. Hughes will face Democrat Jerry Stogsdill in November.

The Hughes win was just one of the victories for moderate Republicans across the county. Several conservative incumbents were swept out of office Tuesday night. John Skubal defeated Jeff Melcher in Senate District 11; Dinah Sykes ousted Greg Smith in Senate District 21 (she will face Logan Heley); Patty Markley defeated Craig McPherson in House District 8; Tom Cox beat Brett Hildebrand in House District 17; Jan Kessinger beat Rob Bruchman in House District 20; and Joy Koesten won over Jerry Lunn in House District 28.

Jay Sidie of Mission Woods also won Tuesday to set up his challenge to Rep. Kevin Yoder for the Third District Congressional seat.

Here is the lineup for the November election in NEJC:

Senate District 6
Democrat Pat Pettey (will be unopposed)

Senate District 7
Democrat Megan England and Republican Barbara Bollier

House District 19
Democrat Elizabeth Meitl and Republican Stephanie Clayton

House District 21
Democrat Jerry Stogsdill and Republican Dorothy Hughes

House District 24
Democrat Jarrod Ousley and Republican Rob Johnson

House District 25
Democrat Matt McCann and Republican Melissa Rooker

The November ballot – besides the vote for president – includes a contest for U.S. Senate, state board of education, a number of judicial retention votes