Yé reelected in Westwood; Morrison voted off Prairie Village council

Westwood Mayor John Yé won a new term in office.
Westwood Mayor John Yé won a new term in office.

The polls are closed and the Election Office has started posting results of advance voting. We’ll update this thread throughout the night as new results come in:

UPDATE 8:15 P.M. Courtney McFadden has the biggest lead in the contested races in advance voting. In the Ward 5 Prairie Village City Council race, she has 56 votes to incumbent David Morrison’s 19.

In the Ward 1 Prairie Village race, incumbent Ashley Weaver is up 42 to 26 on challenger Lee Duong. And in Ward 2, incumbent Ruth Hopkins leads challenger Serena Schermoly by one vote, 16-15.

In Westwood, incumbent Mayor John Yé trails challenger Jim Donovan 17 to 36 in advance voting.


Winners in Mission are: Pat Quinn, Nick Schlossmacher, Kristin Inman, Ron Appletoft.

Winners in Prairie Village are: Ashley Weaver, Serena Schermoly, Andrew Wang, Brooke Morehead, Courtney McFadden, Ted Odell

Winners in Westwood are: Mayor — John Yé; Council — David Waters and Margaret Bowen.

UPDATE 8:32 p.m.:

  • The biggest margin in any of the contested elections on the night was in Prairie Village’s Ward 5, where McFadden defeated Morrison 375 to 160, or 70 percent to 30 percent.
  • Yé may have trailed in advance voting, but he ended up winning a second term in office as Westwood mayor by a comfortable margin over Donovan. Yé had 315 total votes to Donovan’s 216, or 59 percent to 41 percent.
  • The results in Prairie Village will bring one new face to the council (McFadden defeated Morrison, the incumbent, but had already done a short stint on the council after Morrison was ousted): Serena Schermoly beat longtime city councilor Ruth Hopkins 221 to 108, or 67 percent to 33 percent. Hopkins had served on the city council since 1992, and was its longest tenured member.
  • In Westwood, David Waters led the at-large voting field with 330 votes, winning one of the two open seats. Margaret Bowen won the second seat with 250. Jeff Harris was third with 235 and Jayme Tebow was fourth with 201 votes.
  • Incumbent Ashley Weaver earned a second term in office by beating challenger Lee Duong 330 to 209, or 61 percent to 39 percent.
  • In Mission, challenger Kristin Inman knocked off incumbent Jennifer Cowdry in the contested race with the lowest turnout. Inman got 91 votes to Cowdry’s 78.
  • Nick Schlossmacher defeated Scott Babcock in the Ward 2 race. Schlossmacher had 175 votes. Babcock had 120.