Sen. Kay Wolf, Rep. Melissa Rooker file for re-election to Kansas Legislature

Rep. Melissa Rooker and Sen. Kay Wolf filed for re-election to the Kansas Legislature this morning.
Rep. Melissa Rooker and Sen. Kay Wolf filed for re-election to the Kansas Legislature this morning.

Two veteran northeast Johnson County legislators filed for re-election today in Topeka. Sen. Kay Wolf and Rep. Melissa Rooker, both Republicans, will seek new terms in 2016.

Sen. Wolf is completing her first term in the Kansas Senate, first elected in 2012. Before that she served seven years in the Kansas House and five years as a member of the Prairie Village City Council.

Rep. Rooker will be running for her third term in the Kansas House. She was first elected in 2012 and re-elected in 2014.

“Financial stability is one of the most pressing issues for our state right now,” said Wolf in her filing announcement. “It’s time to strike a common sense balance in Topeka so that our schools, our families and our business community have the stability they need to thrive.”

“We can’t afford to continue down the path of fiscal irresponsibility that we’re on. I’m running because it’s important to me, and to the taxpayers I represent, that Topeka get this right,” Rooker said. “We have to for the sake of our schools, our businesses and our families. “

Sen. Wolf is a small business owner with operations located in Johnson County. She is past chairman of the now Northeast Johnson County Chamber of Commerce and chair-elect of the national organization “Women In Government.” She and her husband, Steve, live in Prairie Village and have two sons and two grandchildren, all of whom reside in Johnson County.

Rooker lives in Fairway with her husband, Tom, and their two grown children – their daughter Lindsay was recently married and their son Jack is a junior at KU. Rooker spent 15 years working for Clint Eastwood’s Malpaso Productions where she served as VP of Development.

Sen. Wolf serves as vice chair of the Transportation Committee, vice-chair of the Joint Committee on State Building Construction, and member of the Local Government, Ethics and Elections, and Education committees. Rooker’s committee assignments include Transportation, Transportation and Public Safety Budget, Vision 2020 and Children and Seniors.

Rooker and Wolf join fellow NEJC moderates Stephanie Clayton, the District 19 representative, and Barbara Bollier, the District 21 Representative, who filed for reelection earlier this month. None of the NEJC incumbents have drawn a challenger for this election cycle thus far.

The primary for Kansas legislative seats will be held in August with the general election in November.