All NEJC voters have choices Tuesday, but some more than others


Voters in northeast Johnson County will all have choices to make Tuesday in the spring general election – and, depending on where you live, perhaps a few more decisions.

On of the more robust ballots tomorrow is in Roeland Park, where three of the four city council wards have a contested election. But everyone gets to vote in at least one contest for the Shawnee Mission School Board. That would be the at-large position where Brad Stratton and Elizabeth Rulo face off to replace Joan Leavens. The seat representing the SM North area is also contested between incumbent Sara Goodburn and Mark Ellis. Those are the names that will appear on the ballot, but a write-in candidate – Chris Cindric – also is campaigning for the seat.

Two other school board seats are on the ballot, but incumbents Deb Zila and Patty Mach are running unopposed.

Another education vote will be on the ballot in NEJC where six candidates are running for Johnson County Community College trustee in an at-large race. Voters can vote for three or fewer of the six candidates. On the ballot are Larry Fotovich, Nancy Ingram, Patricia Lightner, David Lindstrom, Greg Musil and Mark Read.

Several other races can be on the ballot depending on where you live. Here is an overview of the choices on Tuesday:

Four people are running unopposed for council seats. They include incumbents James Poplinger, Gail Gregory and J.D. Fair along with Bill Griffith.

Four are running unopposed for council seats in Merriam, including incumbents Nancy Hupp and Al Frisby. Also unopposed on the ballot are Robert Weems and Bob Pape.

Mission Hills
Four candidates are running for three open council seats and all are at-large positions. The four candidates include incumbents David Dickey and Dan Sullivan along with Beverly Brooks and Braden Perry.

Mission Woods
Mayor Robert Tietze is unopposed for another two-year term. Five people are running for five at-large council seats, also two-year terms. Those candidates are John Baenisch, William Dunn Jr., Cory Fisher, Darrell Franklin and Joan Ruff.

Prairie Village
The only position on the ballot is mayor where Laura Wassmer is running unopposed for a four-year term.

Roeland Park
Incumbent Becky Fast is unopposed in Ward 1, but the other three wards have contests. In Ward 2, Tim Janssen and Blake Morgan face off, in Ward 3, Linda Mau and Erin Thompson are running and in Ward 4, Michael Poppa and JoAnna Rush are the candidates.

Westwood Hills
Mayor Paula Schwach is unopposed for another two-year term. Only four candidates are on the ballot for five at-large seats on the council which also are for a two-year term. Rosemary Podrebarac, Gailen Stockwell, Ludwig Villas and John Weedman are running for the seats.

Other choices on the ballot include the Merriam Drainage District where Gerald Becker, Bill Leap and Jim Wymer are unopposed, and the Water District No. 1 Board. For the water board,  incumbent Joe Vaughan is being challenged by Dennis Wilson, incumbent Dick Noon is being challenged by Arthena Easterwood, and Terrence Frederick and Robert Olson are unopposed.

A full list of ballot choices and links to finding your polling place are available on the Johnson County Election Office site.