Northeast Johnson County morning roundup


SM North student Alex Trinkle's photograph will be part of Avila's annual Art Invitational contest.
SM North student Alex Trinkle’s photograph will be part of Avila’s annual Art Invitational contest.
Happy 105th birthday to Mission’s Gertrude Stern. Gertrude Stern, who says she has lived in Mission for 65 years, is celebrating birthday 105 today. She is still in quite good health and gets out frequently to exercise class and church services, she told us. After a fall last year, she decided to give up driving herself at age 104, but still gets around very well.

Wolf one of three senators to break party lines on gun bill vote. Northeast Johnson County state Sen. Kay Wolf was one of just three legislators to break party lines in the vote on SB 45, which does away with permitting requirements for concealed carry. Wolf was the only Republican who voted against the measure. Democratic Sens. David Haley and Laura Kelly voted in favor of it. The bill passed 31-7 and will move on to the House for a vote. [McGinn passes on no-permit gun bill —]

Johnson County Central Library services limited for 2015. The Central Library on 87th Street will start major renovations that will limit its available services for the remainder of the year. Starting Sunday, public access is restricted to the front circulation desk, public restrooms and a small browsing collection. Library users can still place holds, pick up items and return them a the library. Genealogy services and reference collections will be suspended until the building reopens in 2016.

SM North students students earn placement in Avila Art Invitational. Two SM North students will have their work displayed in the 10th Annual High School Invitational at Avila University. The students are Dana Raines, who earned placement with a charcoal self portrait, and Alex Trinkle, who earned placement with a photograph.

Fairway road closure changes. The 5900 block of Lockton Lane will not be closed today as previously anticipated. Instead, Sunrise Drive will be closed in the 5900 block for a storm water project. The shutdown is expected to last five to seven days. Once that is finished, the work will move to Lockton Lane, which will make that street impassable for a time.

Spring break art camp in Roeland Park. A spring break art camp will be held at the Roeland Park Community Center March 16 to 20. The camp includes art instruction, swimming and mini golf. It is sponsored by the Johnson County Parks and Recreation District. A fee applies.

SM North Business Professionals take honors at state. Hannah Merrell is the state champion in Presentation Management Individual at the Business Professionals of America state leadership conference.

Presentation Management Team -3rd Place in State, Gressi Lopez, Quinton Jones, Hannah Merrell; Desktop Publishing, 4th Place – Brennan Colahan; PC Servicing and Troubleshooting – Walter Wright; Finalist in Interview Skills Top 9 – Quinton Jones; Finalist in Interview Skills Top 9 –  Tigst Alemayhu; Finalist in Extemporaneous Speech Top 9 – Gressi Lopez; Top 10 in Management Marketing and Human Resource – Walter Wright; Top 10 in Administrative Support Concepts – Walter Wright; Top 10 in Computer Programming Concepts – Walter Wright; Top 10 in Parliamentary Procedures – Walter Wright; Torch Award Recipients, which require students to document their service to others – Gressi Lopez, Hannah Merrell and Quinton Jones. Torch Award Recipients, which require students to document their service to others – Gressi Lopez, Hannah Merrell and Quinton Jones. The SM North BPA competitors include Hannah Beyer, Tyler Elliott, Brennan Colahan, Paige Holdren, Kendra Propst, Tigst Alemayhu, Quinton Jones, Gressi Lopez, Walter Wright (State Treasurer of Kansas BPA), Hannah Merrell.

Downtown Overland Park Partnership elects officers.  The Downtown Overland Park Partnership has elected board officers for the year and recognized businesses for renovation or expansion projects over the year. Board officers for 2015 include: President – Eric Kratty, owner of Metro Tax Service; Vice-President – John Nolan, principal with Lee & Associates; Treasurer – Tim Holverson, Director of Business Recruitment and Retention, OP Chamber of Commerce EDC; Secretary – Julie Granstaff, owner of The Monogram Shop. Investment awards went to Travis Lindemoen, Nexus IT Group; Ashley Smith, Milagro Midwestern Spa and Collective; Gary Nevius, Craig Serig and Scott Paschia; MOMENTA; John Miller, Maloneys Sports Bar and Grill.

11110_489926784480052_3082146009811949907_nThe Northeast Johnson County morning roundup is brought to you by Twisted Sisters Coffee Shop on Johnson Drive. For updates on the latest blends and specialty drinks available, follow them on Facebook.