Scott Diebold, Cheryl Moore chosen to fill two Merriam City Council vacancies

Scott Diebold and Cheryl Moore were chosen for the Merriam City Council Monday night.
Scott Diebold and Cheryl Moore were chosen for the Merriam City Council Monday night.

Scott Diebold and Cheryl Moore are the two new members of the Merriam City Council. Diebold and Moore were chosen Monday night to fill vacancies creating when two members of the council resigned on the same night in December.

The remaining council interviewed candidates and then voted to choose the replacements. Diebold will fill the Ward 1 seat vacated by Chad Rowe. Although four candidates had submitted applications for the vacancy, Diebold was the only one interviewed Monday.

Robert Weems, who is an unopposed candidate for a four-year term in Ward 1, appeared at the meeting to withdraw his name from the applicants for the vacant spot. Carl Wilkes, a former Merriam mayor who had applied, did not appear at the meeting. Also not appearing was Dennis Miles, who had sent a message asking to withdraw.

That left Diebold, an industrial arts teacher in the Shawnee Mission School District, who was elected to fill the term that expires in 2017. Diebold, who also coached football for 12 years at SM Northwest, cited development and citizen security as issues facing the city.

For the Ward 4 seat vacated by Todd Boyer, six candidates were interviewed. On a first ballot, Moore received four votes and Sean Rowland and Rueben Cozmyer each received two votes (councilors were allowed two votes on the first elimination vote). Mayor Ken Sissom broke the tie in favor of Cozier and on the second ballot Moore received three votes and Cozmyer received two votes from the five voting councilors present.

Moore is a former Merriam city councilor and also has served on the Merriam planning commission, both in the 1990s. She has a master’s degree in urban planning. Continued financial stability and relevance were two issues she listed for the city.

Other candidates interviewed for Ward 4 included David Neal, Roberta Mick-Brown and Sam Matier. Moore and Diebold will be sworn into office in March.