Northeast Johnson County morning roundup

Bishop Miege punter Matt Thorman will play at Northwest Missouri State next year.
Bishop Miege punter Matt Thorman will play at Northwest Missouri State next year.

Bishop Miege punter commits to play at college. Bishop Miege punter Matt Thorman has committed to play college football at Northwest Missouri State. “The Bearcats are getting a good one,” Tweeted Miege coach Jon Holmes on the news.

Pitch previews public hearing on Mission Gateway assessment. The Pitch’s Steve Vockrodt had a piece Monday about the city of Mission’s scheduled Wednesday hearing to inform its decision about whether to assess developer Tom Valenti with a $600,000 annual assessment to make up for the money the city invested in stormwater infrastructure to ready the site for construction. [Mission City Council to decide Wednesday whether to hit Mission Gateway developer with $600,000 annual assessment — The Pitch]

Multiple candidates apply for Mission vacancy. The City of Mission has received six applications for the Ward 1 council vacancy created by the resignation of Steven Lucas at the end of the year. The candidates will be interviewed by a three-member panel that includes Mayor Steve Schowengerdt, Council President Dave Shepard and Pat Quinn, who is the other councilor from the ward. A recommendation for filling the spot may be ready by the February council meeting.

Downtown task force for Johnson Drive meeting. A Mission task force charged with exploring ideas for bringing more customers and businesses to the Johnson Drive corridor has started its meeting process. The task force is expected to meet for the next six months.

NEJC Chamber announced Leadership Northeast participants. The Northeast Johnson County Chamber of Commerce has announced the 24 members of its latest Leadership Northeast class, which helps emerging area leaders improve their leadership skills. The students are: Lt. Todd Allen, City of Merriam Police Dept.; Kathy Axelson, City of Fairway; Mary Crissman, City of Mission Hills; Lt. Troy Duvanel, City of Merriam Police Dept.; Roxanne Dye, The Mission Bank; Judy Fang, City of Mission Hills; Shea Geist, Coalition of Independence; Jennifer Hersh, Turning Point Home Solutions; Alexander Hummel, Community America Credit Union; Jennifer Jones-Lacy, City of Roeland Park; Cpt. Kirk Lane, City of Mission Police Dept.; Paul Lewis, Lathrop & Gage, LLP; Robert McCormack, The University of Kansas Medical Center; Lt. Darren McLaughlin; City of Merriam Police Dept.; Susan Metsker, Congressman Kevin Yoder’s Office; Natasa Nikolovska-Arsova, Mainstreet Credit Union; Councilmember Sarah Page, City of Westwood; Councilmember Michael Rhoades, City of Roeland Park; Julie Roth, Lathrop & Gage, LLP; Dave Smothers, City of Merriam; Nolan Sunderman, City of Prairie Village; Sean Tucker, Shawnee Mission Health; Councilmember Ashley Weaver, City of Prairie Village; Jerry Zimmerman, Johnson County Community College. This year’s program begins Jan. 22 and runs through May 21.