Northeast Johnson County morning roundup

Mission-driver-license-office1Mission driver licensing station rolling back expanded hours. More than a year after starting a pilot project that kept it open until 7:45 p.m. Monday through Thursday, the Mission driver licensing station is reducing its evening hours. The Department of Transportation announced Tuesday that the Mission and Olathe driver licensing offices will be open from 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. Monday through Friday. “We found that the majority of people came into our offices before 6 p.m., so we are concentrating our staff during the most popular times to more quickly serve customers,” said Vehicles Director Lisa Kaspar.

Northeast Johnson County residents, legislators dot “Most Interesting People” list. Media analyst John Celock this week released a list of the “14 Most Interesting People In Kansas Politics In 2014,” and northeast Johnson County was well represented. Johnson County parents, as well as state Reps. Melissa Rooker and Barbara Bollier, were among those making the cut. [14 Most Interesting People In Kansas Politics In 2014 — Celock Report]

Voter registration deadline looms for Shawnee Mission ballot. Voters can register through Tuesday to qualify for the Shawnee Mission mail-in ballot. You can register by mail, online, at any city hall or the Election Office, 2101 E. Kansas City Road in Olathe. Not sure if you’re registered? Verify your status online.

Village Shops’ full occupancy attracts attention of local television. WDAF on Tuesday aired a piece about the fact that the Village Shops are now fully leased. See our story from Monday here. [Business is booming in Prairie Village — WDAF]