SM East journalists land 1st Place Best of Show at national convention


This past weekend, representatives of hundreds of student publications from across the country gathered in Washington, D.C., for the annual National Scholastic Press Association fall convention. Just three high schools walked away with a Best of Show first prize award for their newspaper. And SM East was one of them.

The SM East student newspaper, The Harbinger, took first in the NSPA Best of Show category for tabloid-sized publications of 17 or more pages. NSPA also named Best of Show winners for tabloids 16 pages or less as well as broadsheet publications. What’s more, The Harbinger’s website also took fifth place in the Best of Show category for large school publication website.

Newspaper adviser Dow Tate said the Best of Show win came as something of a surprise.

“We have a lot of young talent on the staff, but I would stress the word young,” he said. “So winning a Best of Show at one of NSPA’s biggest conventions came as a little bit of shock. But it sure gave the kids a boost that we’ll take.”

The school’s yearbook, The Hauberk, took tenth place in its category. A full list of the publication and individual awards for SM East at the NSPA fall convention is below:

The Harbinger won a top award at the NSPA fall convention.
The Harbinger won a top award at the NSPA fall convention.

2014 NSPA Newspaper Pacemaker Winners

The Harbinger, Shawnee Mission East
Andrew McKittrick, Katie Knight, editors

Fall 2014 NSPA Best of Show – Washington, DC

Newspaper Tabloid (17+ pages) – The Harbinger, 1st Place
Publication Website (large school) – Harbinger Online, 5th Place
Yearbook (325+ pages) – Hauberk, 10th place

2014 National Story of the Year Awards

Sports – Julia Poe, 3rd Place
Feature – Julia Poe, Honorable Mention
Diversity – Afton Apodaca, Honorable Mention

2014 National Design of the Year Awards

Newsmagazine Cover – Sophie Tulp, Morgan Krakow, 1st Place
Newpaper Page/Spread – Phoebe Aguiar, Caroline Kohring, 4th Place
Infographic – Andrew McKittrick, Phoebe Aguiar, Honorable Mention

2014 National Picture of the Year Awards

Feature Picture – Maxx Lamb, 2nd Place

National Write Off Contest Results – Fall 2014 NSPA Convention

Superior – Julia Poe, Sports Writing
Honorable Mention – Katharine Swindells, News Editing/Headline Writing
Honorable Mention – Aiden Epstein, Review Writing

Superior – Olivia Seabaugh, Yearbook Student Life Photography
Excellent – Katharine Chester, First Year Photo