Northeast Johnson County morning roundup

Sheriff Frank Denning
Sheriff Frank Denning
County Chair Ed Eilert and Sheriff Frank Denning in a dust up. Johnson County Board Commissioner Ed Peterson isn’t the only one taking shots at County Chair Ed Eilert recently. Sheriff Frank Denning and Eilert got into a testy exchange at the County Board meeting earlier this month, with Denning making not-so-subtle insinuations that he thought Eilert was not respecting the authority of the Sheriff’s Department and Denning’s autonomy as an elected official. “If you attempt to do a takeover [of the Sheriff’s Office] I’ll be standing at the gate,” Denning told Eilert at the meeting. [Johnson County Sheriff Frank Denning seems suspicious that some want to take over his office — The Pitch]

Johnson County healthiest in Kansas. A recent ranking of the of health of the populations of counties across the country finds Johnson County is the healthiest in the state of Kansas. The rankings are based on 29 factors, including smoking rates, diet, sexual activity and access to healthcare. Wyandotte County, immediate to Johnson County’s north, was 98th of the 98 counties ranked in the state. [KC area counties are among the healthiest in their states — Kansas City Star]

Roeland Park Council Megan England named to county cultural group. Roeland Park City Councilor Megan England is one of five Johnson County community members who will be part of the first Regional Cultural Plan steering committee for the Kansas City metro. The Johnson County representatives were appointed by the count commissioners. The goal of the Regional Cultural Plan is to make the arts more purposeful, rewarding and meaningful for the community. The ArtsKC Regional Arts Council is heading the artistic/cultural “think tank” that will include bi-state participation from Johnson, Jackson, Clay, Platte and Wyandotte counties.

Reception planned for outgoing Mission mayor Laura McConwell. A reception for outgoing Mission Mayor Laura McConwell will be held from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. April 3 at the Sylvester Powell Community Center. Whatever happens in next Tuesday’s city election, McConwell will end her run of 12 years leading the city. She did not file for re-election this year. She became mayor in March 2002 following the death of Sylvester Powell, Jr. and then was elected to the position three times. She had also served on the city council and the parks and recreation commission. In 2008, she was named Kansas Mayor of the Year by the Kansas Mayors Association.