Honors pour in for Dustin Delaney, SM East football team

Dustin Delaney is Kansas High School Coach of the Year
Dustin Delaney is Kansas High School Coach of the Year

When your team makes its first-ever state championship appearance based on the consistent contributions of players in every facet of the game, you can expect the post-season recognition to be far reaching.

That’s the experience for Shawnee Mission East’s 6A runner-up football team this week, as both the Sunflower League and Kansas City metro area organizations released their lists of post-season honorees.

Perhaps not surprisingly given his team’s remarkable performance in his first year as head coach, Dustin Delaney was named the Time Warner Cable SportsChannel Kansas Coach of the Year. That award is granted based on the votes of head coaches in the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association (GKCFCA) and a 12-member media committee.

Lancer defensive back Kyle Ball received the top recognition among the players. Ball, a junior, earned a spot on the 2013 All-Simone Team, which recognizes the best high school football players in the entire metro area. Ball also made the Sunflower League’s First Team.

Two other Lancers, Mitchell Tyler and Luke Taylor, received league First Team honors as well. See the full list of Sunflower League honorees below — and CONGRATULATIONS, LANCERS!!!

First Team Sunflower League

Dominique Atkinson, senior (defensive line)
Kyle Ball, junior (defensive back)
Ryan Carter, senior (linebacker)
Luke Taylor, senior (running back)
Mitchell Tyler, senior (defensive back)
James Wooldridge, junior (offensive line)

Second Team Sunflower League

Devin Price, junior (offensive line)
Mitchell Tyler, senior (wide receiver)
Charley White, junior (punt returner)

Sunflower League Honorable Mention

David Spivak, Christian Blessen, Sam Pottenger, Luis Adame, Will Kaiser, Sam Huffman, Will Oakley, Charley White