National Merit Program commends 10 SM East, 2 SM North students

Ten Shawnee Mission East students and two Shawnee Mission North students are among the select group of scholars to receive special recognition from the National Merit Program.

The program issued formal commendations to 37 Shawnee Mission district students this week based on their scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in 2012.

National Merit Commended students must score among the top 5 percent of all test takers across the country. The “Commended” list is used by a variety of corporations and other businesses as part of the selection criteria for private scholarships.

nationalmerit-logoThe students are:

SM East

  • Bridgette N. Beasley
  • Sarah J. Bromley
  • Ayana N. Curran Howes
  • Mary E. Grekstas
  • Dylan E. Martz
  • Lilliam M. Payne
  • Graeham R. Ryan,
  • Kenneth Siegel
  • Katherine M. Stiegemeyer
  • Rowan M. Turner

SM North

  • Katelyn Huxman
  • Jennifer Hager

Last month the National Merit Program announced which students had made its National Merit Semifinalist list — a group made up of students scoring in the top 1 percent of PSAT/NMSQT takers.