Yoder among 144 House Republicans to vote against bill reopening government

U.S. Rep. Kevin Yoder.
U.S. Rep. Kevin Yoder.

Congressman Kevin Yoder, who represents much of Johnson County, was among the 144 House Republicans to vote against the bill passed late Wednesday to temporarily raise the debt ceiling and reopen the government.

Rep. Lynn Jenkins, whose district encompasses much of the rest of the eastern quarter of the state, including Lawrence, was the only Kansas representative to vote in support of the bill. Eighty seven Republicans voted in support of the measure.

On his Facebook page this morning, Yoder posted the following message about his decision:

The bill voted on in the House does very little to address ongoing spending problems in Washington, and only kicks the can down the road again. I could not support this approach. We must work together to get federal spending under control, and to ensure our budget balances, so that our children and grandchildren are in a better fiscal situation than we currently are.