Chamber nominates businesses, volunteers for annual awards (and we’re on the list)

A distinguished group of local businesses – and we say distinguished because we here at Prairie Village Post are among them – have been nominated for the Northeast Johnson County Chamber of Commerce annual business awards.

Hey! There we are!
Hey! There we are!

The categories include small business, corporate business, new business and volunteer of the year awards. The nominees for 2013 in each category include:

Small businesses are those with under 25 employees that have been in business more than three years. Previous winners in this category include Moss Printing, Casey’s Auto Repair, RJ’s Bob-Be-Que Shack and American Companion Care.

Corporate businesses have more than 25 employees. Previous winners are Johnson County Community College, KCP&L, Mainstreet Credit Union, and Shawnee Mission Medical Center.

New businesses can be any size, but have to three years old or less under current ownership. They also must have shown significant growth. Previous winners include Sully’s Pub, hr-haven, Planet Sub and Premier Bank.

Chamber volunteers must have served on one committee or been influential in another event. Previous winners include Cathy Casey, Casey’s Auto Repair; Jeff Herman, American Companion Care; Paul Ridgway, American Family Insurance; and Nancy Wallerstein of the Johnson County Parks and Recreation Board.

Chamber members vote on the slate of nominees.