Three local students among KU political science honorees

KU8Three area students were among the University of Kansas Political Science department’s honorees for the most recently completed school year.

  • Kira Alexander, a junior from Mission, received an Emmett Bennett Scholarship. The Emmett L. Bennett Scholarship is granted to an outstanding junior majoring in political science.
  • Kenneth Cochran, a senior from Mission, received an Eldon Fields Award. The Eldon Fields Award is granted to outstanding seniors majoring in political science.
  • Jessica Jacob, a junior from Prairie Village, was inducted into Pi Sigma Alpha. 36 students were inducted into the Gamma chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society. Criteria for induction include a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale in all political science courses with a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.4 for undergraduates. For graduate students, the average must be at least 3.5.

Congrats to Kira, Kenneth and Jessica.