JoCo Library honors Fairway and Mission Hills residents for service

From left, Board of County Commissioners Chairman Annabeth Surbaugh; County Librarian Donna Lauffer; and honorees Joan Berkley, Mission Hills; Ellen Miller, Lenexa; Jim Lutz, Overland Park; and Warren Robinson, Fairway.

The Johnson County Library has recognized two local residents for their volunteer service to the system —three times over.

Joan Berkley of Mission Hills and Warren Robinson of Fairway were recently given the library’s Triple Crown award for having served  on all three of the boards associated with the library: the Library Board, the Friends of the Library Board and the Johnson County Library Foundation Board. Robinson also was one of the founders of Friends of Kansas Libraries (FOKL) in 1982.

“That’s a lot of boards!” you may be saying to yourself. Well, don’t fret. Here’s a breakdown of what each group handles, according to the library:

Each of the three boards has a different role in supporting the Johnson County Library. The Library Board, established in 1952 with the founding of the library, is an independent governing board appointed by the County Commission.  The Friends of the Library, established in 1956, is dedicated to advocacy of the Johnson County Library and library issues in general. The Johnson County Library Foundation, established in 1996, is charged with building an endowment for the Library’s collection and securing funding for life-long learning programs at the library.